Friday, August 16, 2013

Friday, January 25, 2013

12 Jyotirlinga

12 Jyotirlinga India is a country with thousand race, the land of thousands beliefs and the abode of a million Gods. The most important pilgrim centres particularly for the Shaivities are 12 Jyotirlingas which are situated in different parts of India. Reference of these Jyotirlingas is also found in the Shiv Purana. They are called jyotirlingas because Lord Shiva is said to have revealed himself to his devotees in the form of Jyoti ? light. Even today devotees are said to have got his darshan in the form of jyoti at these places. The 12 jyotirlinga shrines, popularly known as the Dwadasa Jyotirlinga shrines are considered to be very holy by the Hindus. The Jyotirlingas have held an important position in the Indian belief system. The Jyotirlinga temples have a rich tradition and each temple has a legend attached to it. They are situated in different parts of India. The northernmost Jyotirlinga is located in the snow clad Himalayas at Kedarnath. The southernmost Jyotirlinga is situated at Rameswaram. These temples provide a fine view of Indian architecture and definitely add to the rich glory and tradition of Indian history. These places are a must visit both in terms of pilgrimage and as tourist destinations.

The 12 Jyotirlinga temples are the following :-

Somnath Jyotirlinga Shrine
Mallikaarjun Mahadeva Temple
Mahakaleshwar Temple
Nageshwar Jyotirlinga Temple
Rameshwar Jyotirlinga Temple
Grishneshwar Jyotirlinga Temple
Tryambakeshwar Jyotirlinga Temple
Bhimashankar Jyotirlinga Temple
Kedarnath Jyotirlinga Temple
Omkareshwar Jyotirlinga Temple
Baijnath (Vaidhyanath) Jyotirlinga Temple
Vishwanath Jyotirlinga Temple

Kumbh Mela 2013

Kumbh Mela (/ˌkʊm ˈmeɪlə/ or /ˌkʊm məˈlɑː/; Devanagari: कुम्भ मेला) is a mass Hindu pilgrimage of faith in which Hindus gather at a sacred river for a bath in the river. It is held every third year at one of the four places by rotation: Haridwar, Prayag (Allahabad), Nasik and Ujjain. Thus the Kumbh Mela is held at each of these four places every twelfth year. Ardh (Half) Kumbh Mela is held at only two places, Haridwar and Allahabad, every sixth year. The rivers at these four places are: Ganga (Ganges) at Haridwar, confluence (“Sangam”) of Ganga and Yamuna at Prayag, Godawari at Nasik and Shipra at Ujjain.
“Kumbh” means a pitcher and “Mela” means fair in Hindi. The pilgrimage is held for about one and a half months at each of these four places where — it is believed in Hindu mythology — drops of nectar fell from the Kumbh carried by gods after the sea was churned. The festival is billed as the "biggest gathering on Earth".
1983Ardh Kumbh---
1992--KumbhArdh Kumbh
1995Ardh Kumbh---
2004--KumbhArdh Kumbh
2007Ardh Kumbh---
2013Maha Kumbh---
2016--KumbhArdh Kumbh
2019Ardh Kumbh---

Upcoming Kumbh Mela festivals:
  • The Kumbh Mela at Nasik in 2015 will also be Known as Simhasth (as Guru will be in Singh Rashi) (August 15 to September 13).
  • Ujjain Purna Kumbh Mela 2016

Sunday, September 21, 2008

There are Twelve (12) temples called Jyotirlingas dedicated to Lord Eshwara in the form of Shiva Lingas

There are Twelve (12) temples called Jyotirlingas dedicated to Lord Eshwara in the form of Shiva Lingas. These temples are situated across India and are considered very sacred by Hindus. There is a belief that, all these twelve Jyothirlingas are to be visited in the month of November-December (Kartika Masam). Below are brief details of each Jyotirlinga. Visit respective individual page for more details on each place.

1. Sri Somanatheshwara Jyotirling is considered as the first jyotirling among all. This is situated in Prabhas patal (Junaghad, Gujarat state). Worshipping this temple, people will be free of diseases. And, there is a belief that people suffering from TB, will get cured.

2. Sriselam Mallikarjuna Jyotirlinga is the second one which gains importance, on visiting, people will be relieved of their sins. This temple is situated near Sriselam in Karnool district of Andhra Pradesh.

3. The third Jotirlinga is situated near Ujjaini of Madhya Pradesh. On worshipping Shree Mahakaleshwara Jyotirling, people lead happy life without sadness.

4. Near Indore (Nimar district, Madhya Pradesh), the fourth, Sri Omkareshwara Jyotirlinga is located. On performing puja, people will overcome their weaknesses if they have any.

5. Situated at Kedarnath (Uttaranchal), Kedareshwara Jyotirlinga is the fifth Jyothirlinga. Visiting this place, people will find their wishes come true.

6. Bhimashankar Jyotirlinga which is the Sixth one, is located near Pune (Maharashtra). All kind of pains will be relieved on performing pooja in this temple.

7. The seventh one is the Kashi Vishweshwara Jyotirlinga is located at Varanasi. People get peaceful mind and free of tension.

8. Sri Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga is the eighth Jyotirlingam. This is situated near Nasik of Maharashtra. On visiting this Jyotirlinga, people will come out of their weaknesses and get nearer to lord Shiva.

9. Sri Vaidyanatheshwara Jyotirlinga is the nineth Jyotirlinga which is at Devghad (Bihar). People will have a profitable business on visiting and performing puja in this place.Railway station BAIDYANATHDHAM station code: BDME ( Nearest Main railway station Jasidih Junction 15 KM ( station code JSME ) on Howrah Delhi main line)

10. Near Dwaraka (Gujarat), Sri Nageshwara Jyotirlinga, considered as the tenth Jyotirlingam, is situated. On performing puja in this temple, people will be free of their sin (dosha).

11. Sri Rameswara Jyotirlinga is the Eleventh Jyothirlinga situated near Kanyakumari of Tamilnadu. People visiting this place will be free of their sins and their wishes will come true.

12. Situated near Yellora caves of Maharashtra is the 12th Jyotirlinga, Sri Grishneswar Jyotirlinga. People who worship here will get all kind of luxury in life.

12 Jyotirlinga

One who recites these 12 names regularly in the morning and evening he washes all the sins committed in the previous 7 births and attains all the powers and Siddhis.

Saurashtra Somnatham Cha Shrishaile Mallikarjunam ||
Ujjainyam Mahakalomkare Mammaleshwaram ||
Parlyam Vaijnatham Cha Dakinyam Bheem Shankaram ||
Setu Bandhe Tu Ramesham Nagesham Daruka Vane ||
Varanasya Tu Vishwesham Tribakam Gautamitate ||
Himalaye Tu Kedaram Ghurmesham Cha Shivalaye ||
Aetani Jyotirlingani Sayam Prataha Pathennaraha ||
Sapta Janma Kritam Papam Smaranen Vinashyati ||